Deadline to submit nomination is Nov. 4

Since 1981, a special tribute, the Margaret H. Traylor Distinguished Service Award, has been presented by the Brunswick Chamber of Commerce to an outstanding individual for his or her contributions to the betterment of our community.

Nominees do not have to be members of the chamber and may be submitted by any individual or organization. We encourage chamber members and the pubic to re-nominate deserving individuals who may have been nominated but not recognized in past years. However, completion of a current nomination form each year is required. The DSA Committee’s choice will be honored at the Chamber luncheon meeting on Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2019. The recipient of the award will also serve as the Grand Marshal for the Brunswick Chamber Christmas Parade to be held Friday, Dec. 6 at 7:30 p.m.

Previous recipients of the Brunswick Chamber of Commerce MARGARET H. TRAYLOR DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD are: 1981-Gene Thomas; 1982-Earl Williams; 1983-Isadore Novey; 1984-Ed Dawson; 1985-W. Carlton Link; 1986-Lawrence Lucy; 1987-Robert Pecht; 1988-Harold Blick; 1989 & 1990-(no nomination), 1991-Campbell Chambliss; 1992-Leslie Beatty; 1993-Lonnie Baird; 1994-Howard Settle; 1995-William Edmonds; 1996- (no nomination), 1997-Margaret Traylor; 1998-Woodrow Packer; 1999-Joseph Thompson; 2000-Garland Baird; 2001 Jo Anne Chambliss; 2002-Donald Riegal; 2003-Robert Peebles; 2004-Ray Thomas; 2005-Alvin Lucy; 2006-Robbie Pecht; 2007-Cynthia Hill Pecht; 2008-Dr. John Sykes; 2009-George and Lois Daniel; 2010-Nathaniel Neblett; 2011 (no nomination); 2012-David “Chunk” Gibson; 2013- Dr. John J. Cavan; 2014-Bernard Jones, Sr.; 2015-Roy Palmer Green; 2016-Frederick Thomas “Tommy” Johnson; 2017-Earl and Mary Clary and 2019-Wendy Wright.

For more information call the Brunswick Chamber of Commerce at (434) 848-3154 or email at The Brunswick Chamber of Commerce office is located at 400 North Main Street, Lawrenceville, Va.

To read the entire article pick up the Oct. 30, 2019 edition of the Brunswick Times-Gazette.